Skip to content

Week 2 Begins

August 30, 2010

Well, I must admit, week 1 was pretty great.  Yes, it was hard getting back into a routine and I did have to force myself to read and workout even if it was almost midnight, but I did it and feel great!  So here’s just a little update.

I finished the C.S. Lewis books, The Screwtape Letters.  This is a fabulous read!  It is funny, poignant, theological, relational, and just a joy.  The book consists of a series of letters written by Screwtape to his nephew, Wormwood.  Both are servants of the devil, but Wormwood is currently “out in the field” trying to convert a Christian man to their side.  Here are some of my favorite lines:

“Once you have made the World an end, and faith a means, you have almost won your man, and it makes very little difference what kind of worldly end he is pursuing.” (34)

“Indeed the safest road to Hell is the gradual one – the gentle slope, soft underfoot, without sudden turnings, without milestones, without signposts.” (61)

There are many many others, too many to mention here, but again, I highly recommend it.  You can even borrow my copy if you like!  Just don’t mind the underlines and sidenotes 🙂

I am continuing with the prayer book by Walter Brueggemann.  With every page I read, I love him more and more.  The words he writes, the way he writes, it just all comes together so beautifully and seems to not just encompass the idea of a certain passage or occassion but to truly grasp the emotion and intent of it as well.  I think I may have to start using some of the prayers in church, as they are too good not to share.

Finally, in terms of fitness, I stuck with my Turbo Fire program and only missed one day of working out. (That was Thursday when we went to Medieval times with the fabulous Fishers! Major kudos to Rob for still getting his run in that night.  I’m impressed!)  I won’t say the workouts got easier to do but they did get easier to start if that makes any sense.  It was easier to push play knowing how good it would make me feel.  I also did fairly well with eating – I had my shakeology shakes for lunch almost every day and didn’t splurge too badly especially considering the night at Medieval Times and a Braves game on Sunday.  Overall, though, it was a great week.  And, as a plus, I lost weight.  Current weight: 137.6 This is a big loss from last week but I know not to expect it every week.  I’m excited but don’t want to get overly excited so that when the loss isn’t as great next week I won’t feel so bad.

I am so grateful for all the comments on my recent posts.  It is great to know so many others are on this journey as well.  Please post any of your successes and failures, tips and suggestions for all of us to share together!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

