Skip to content

I think I’m getting the hang of this!

September 13, 2010

So week 3 of the formerly known as new endeavor now known as Life Alterations (thanks, Lilith!) is complete.  And, as the title says, it really is starting to become a part of my life to the point where if I don’t get my workout in or my reading in, I just don’t feel like my day is complete.  A new routine takes time but I’m becoming proof that if you stick to it for a few weeks it will become habit and non-negotiable habit at that!

Reading report – I finished the book, The Slight Edge.  Definitely recommend it!  It’s an easy read filled with things that you already know or have heard before but written in a great way to remind you and inspire you to get things done.  One of the overarching themes declares it is the small little things that you do that make a difference in the bigger picture.  They are easy to do but just as easy not to do.  I’ve found myself repeating that often, reminding myself when I have something on my to do list that I don’t really want to do.  I have to remember that it’s the small things that add up over time in a more significant way than one big thing done once or twice.

Really reminds me of one of my current favorite bible passages, one that I quoted in my sermon last week, Hebrews 12:11, “No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.”

The new book I’ll be starting tonight is Edwin Friedman’s A Failure of Nerve: Leadership in the Age of the Quick Fix.  It is actually one of the books we are reading as a United Methodist covenant group.  The reviews on the back sound great, so I’m excited to dive in!

I continue to read Brueggemann’s prayers and regular Bible readings.  I am currently in the book of Ezekiel and will be moving to the book of Daniel later in the week.

Workouts are still going well.  I’m staying on my Turbo Fire schedule – six days of workouts and one rest day.  I substituted my TF video on Friday, though, since I was at the Aerobics and Fitness Association of America’s Group Fitness Certification.  The event was held in Athens, so I got to spend some time with the fam, which was a plus!  The training was long but really great.  We met from 9 – 6 to learn and prepare for a written and practical test.  I feel like I am now an expert on muscles (well, maybe not but I know more than I used too!).  I have to wait 4-6 weeks for my results, so I’ll let you know when I find out!

As far as weight loss is concerned, I’m back down to 137.2.  Although the scale isn’t showing major changes, I most definitely feel better and my clothes are fitting better.  I am excited to do my measurements this weekend as I end the first month to see those numbers.

I hope everyone else is doing well!  Fall is quickly coming upon us and football is here, so that’s got to put a smile on your face 🙂  Just don’t think about the scores from this weekend, haha.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

