Skip to content

Never Stop Learning…Ever!

January 25, 2011

I am currently in the midst of writing my ordination papers for the United Methodist Church.  After getting my Masters of Divinity and completing paperwork and interviews to be commissioned as a deacon in the church, this is my final step in the ordination process.  After I turn in my papers, I will be interviewed and, if deemed effective in ministry, I will be ordained at Annual Conference in June.

The first time around, I was still in divinity school and still in the paper-writing mindset.  My theology and methodism classes were fresh in my head.  Now, three years later, I find that I am a little rusty.  I am rereading old books and finding new books to read to help me as I continue to articulate my theology and how it aligns with the theology of the larger church.

As I’ve been doing this, I am struck by how much I am enjoying it and wishing that I had continued studying on my own after completing my school work.  It’s almost as if a whole new world has been opened to me and my mind is being refreshed and renewed.  I love it!  It has also increased my self-confidence, as I find assurance in what I teach and preach in the words of past church leaders, especially John Wesley.

So, whatever your passion may be, whether it is your work, your play, your volunteer work, or something that has caught your attention, read up on it.  Find the great works of that area and digest what its leaders have to say.  As it says in Romans 12, may you “be transformed by the renewing of your mind.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

