Skip to content

Home Grown Monday

March 7, 2011

I think I’m going to attempt doing some theme days on my blog.  I’m hoping it will help me stay focused and consistent with writing.  So, for the first theme I’m going with, “Home Grown Monday.”  Chris and I have been homeowners for almost a year now, and we have learned a lot, things we probably should have known and things that we never would have considered before.  So, for my first Home Grown Monday post, here are some random things I have learned and figured out.  Please don’t laugh, as some of them may seem ridiculous 🙂

  1. Vacuum cleaners work a lot better when their bags are changed.  Yes, I know, duh!  My vacuum has an indicator to let you know when the bag is full, but what I didn’t realize is that the vacuum has to be on in order for the indicator light to work.  Man, what a difference!
  2. Don’t use clorox wipes on stainless steel appliances.  But, if you do, rub the stainless with some olive oil to get rid of the ugly streaks you have created.  Thank goodness I only did this on our toaster and not every small appliance we have!
  3. Replace your air filters frequently.  The house we bought had been vacant for a while, so one of the first things we did was change the filters because they were pretty much non-existent.  This makes a huge difference in the amount of dust in your house and, obviously, the cleanliness of the air.
  4. Don’t get overwhelmed with all the projects you want to do.  I have learned to take it one step at a time, writing out what I want to do, prioritizing, and budgeting for it all.  The last thing we want to do is get in over our heads, so we just take it one step at a time.

That’s all for today, but I think I’m going to like this theme.  And I promise it will probably be entertaining as I share with you all the crazy mistakes I’ve made along the way!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

