Skip to content

Wonderful Wednesday – Family Game Night

March 9, 2011

Ok, so here’s another theme I’m gonna try out – Wonderful Wednesday.  It’s a pretty broad topic because I’m just going to share different things that make me smile.  First up, family game nights!

One of my favorite things to do is spend time with my family.  I have two younger sisters, one is married and the other has a boyfriend, and amazingly we all get along really well.  When we get together, it is inevitable that a game (or 10) will come out.  We have a great time competing against each other while laughing with (and at) each other and just playing around.  There are a couple new games that have been introduced to our gatherings lately, so I thought I would share them with y’all if you are in need of a fun family activity or party games!

Bezzerwizzer – It’s an updated Trivial Pursuit type game but goes by a lot quicker and has some opportunities for strategic play against the other players.

 

 

 

 

Speed Scrabble – We love just pulling out the tiles from Scrabble and playing this.  Each person starts with seven tiles and must create their own scrabble board.  When one person has used all their tiles, they yell “Go” and everyone gets a new tile.  Recently, I’ve seen this game sold separately as Bananagrams.  But, if you already have scrabble, no need to buy the separate game.

Anything Goes – It’s like charades except taken to the next level.  You get two cards and must act out both at the same time.  For example: Try to light a fire while knitting with your toes.  You’re doing a victory dance while losing a tickling contest.  Each player writes down what they think the person is doing and the actor gets to choose the winner based on the award cards.  My sisters, my mom, and I were all crying we were laughing so hard playing this game.

Phase 10 – Awesome card game.  My sister’s boyfriend is a beast at it – come from behind victories all the time!

 

 

 

 

Dance Central on xbox kinnect – So much fun!  And, you don’t have to be a dancer at all – I mean, after all, my dad and my husband both did it and they have no rhythm whatsoever!  Better than rockband because you don’t get booed off the stage, haha.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

