Skip to content

Home Grown Monday

March 14, 2011

This weekend I decided to get crafty and experiment with a decorating idea I got from Better Homes and Gardens.  I am on their email list, so I get a weekly decorating email with lots of random tips and tricks.  This is the first one I have done and am very proud of it.  I have been looking for something to hang on the wall up our stairs.  We have a two story foyer, so the stairs are very open.  The project is very simple, with the hardest part finding the right fabric.  I’m still not sure that I’m crazy about the lighter fabric I chose, but I think it will be better once we get the walls painted a tan color instead of the awful builder beige.  Hopefully, the painting will get done in mid-April.  I had a painter come out to give an estimate last week, so we shall see.  Fingers crossed it won’t cost an arm and a leg!

Anyway, back to the project.  Find a fabric or two that you want to use.  I chose two different but coordinating fabrics.  They are upholstery fabrics, so a little bit more expensive but a good quality.  I got them from our local JoAnn Fabrics, which is always having good sales, so that’s a plus.  After you find a fabric, decide what size(s) you want to display.  The fabric is attached to canvas, so there are a lot of choices available.  I went for 3 12×24 canvases.  They were also on sale (woo hoo!).  For these sizes, I bought 1 yard of each fabric.  I have a bunch left over, so I probably could have done 1/2 a yard, but I like to have extra just in case I want to switch it up and add more or add some to a different room.  The last item you need is a staple gun.  These are great to have on hand for random projects around the house.  I first experimented with one when I made my own headboard a couple years ago.  Staple guns are quick and easy for even the most inexperienced creative mind (i.e. me!).

Lay the fabric over the canvas and cut out a piece slightly larger than your canvas so that it can be wrapped around the edges.  If you cut it too big, you can always trim the extra.  If you cut it too small, you are in trouble.  So, measure twice and cut once!  Once the fabric is cut, place the fabric face down on a hard surface and center the canvas face down on the fabric.  Pull the fabric from the bottom edge and staple it to the back of the canvas.  I like to on staple in the center of each edge first.  (Click here to see what I mean) Be sure to pull the fabric taut each time so that you don’t have any bumps or bubbles.  Once the center staples are in, add staples along all the edges approx. 1 inch apart.

And that’s it!  It really took me less than an hour to put these together.  That doesn’t include hanging them, though.  Trying to get things level while you’re standing on stairs is not easy!  Anyway, this is a great project for simple, quick artwork for those of us who have no artistic talent.  And, when you get sick of it, it’s easy to change out the fabric without buying new canvases.  Let me know if you give it a try.  I would love to see it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brenda Parker permalink
    March 30, 2011 2:15 pm

    So this is what you were practicing for at Renovatus. Mine were still tighter!

    • March 30, 2011 2:19 pm

      It was great practice, most definitely! And, yes, I’m sure yours were. You are the master, and I am just the lowly apprentice 🙂

Leave a Reply

