Skip to content

Home Grown Monday – Couponing!

April 18, 2011

I got a toothbrush for free!  And not just from the dentist!

I have recently gotten into the world of couponing.  It began with a conversation with my good friend Kara.  She is a stay at home mom to the most beautiful little girl and has starting couponing to help save money as well as be able to donate more goods to local organizations.  She has had some great success stories, so it really got me thinking about it.  The most I know about couponing is just cutting them out from the Sunday paper and then using them on the things you buy each time you go to the grocery store.  Seems pretty simple, but I wasn’t sure how just doing that was going to make a huge dent in the monthly grocery bill.  Well, Kara showed me all the tricks.

One of the main things she uses that I use now is www.southernsavers.com.  This website looks at each of the weekly ads for different stores in the southeast and then matches the sales up with coupons available online and in the weekly paper.  All the work is done for you; all you have to do is create your shopping list and print out the required coupons.  Thank goodness for this fabulous site!

Another thing that has inspired me is TLC’s new show, Extreme Couponers.  Now, I am far from creating my own stockpile of items and achieving a 97% savings when I go to the store.  But, I am slowly learning and increasing my percentage.  Today, Chris and I went to Publix and I had a 31.5% savings.  Not too shabby!

I’d love to hear your couponing tips and share your savings stories!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Meredith Elder permalink
    April 21, 2011 10:05 pm

    OMG! We watched extreme couponing for like 4 hours when it first came on and I am so stinking fascinated! I’ve got a stack of coupons in my drawer now, but I don’t really know how to use them! But I did get $.50 off toilet paper that was also on sale the other day, so that’s a start!! hahaha, my life goal is to get paid for an item I’m getting!

Leave a Reply

