Skip to content

5k a Month – April Edition

April 26, 2011

Even though my fabulous husband totally rocked a Duathalon last Sunday, he decided to join me for another 5k so that I wouldn’t have to do it alone.  He is amazing!

So, Saturday morning we got up and ran in the Truett’s Grill Not Your Run of the Mill 5k.  This race is sponsored by Truett’s Grill (that’s Truett Cathy of Chick-fil-A fame) and all proceed go towards a scholarship program in memory of a young man who was killed on the road behind Truett’s Grill.  The weather was a little misty and cool, which ended up being perfect for a run.  The race stayed on one road, guiding us out halfway and then u-turning to come back.  The run out was great, with a couple slow downhill slopes.  That made for a more difficult run back with the uphill slopes.  Overall, though, it was a great race.

Chris rocked it with 27 minutes.  I managed to come in just under 35 minutes.  Not my best time, but I’m still proud of myself for running the whole thing, especially since I haven’t been as disciplined in my workouts lately.  It was definitely a wakeup call, though, with the Peachtree Road Race 10k coming up so quickly.  I need to get my booty in gear so that I can be prepared!

Here is a picture of Chris and me post-race:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

