Skip to content

Fitness Fireworks – A Challenge for YOU!!!

May 24, 2011

With summer right around the corner, we are all scrambling to get in shape for shorts, tank tops, and the dreaded bathing suit!  To help keep us all motivated, I’m offering a challenge for anyone and everyone to support each other and keep each other accountable in setting our fitness routines on fire!

The challenge will begin Memorial Day and end on July 4th.  Hence the firework imagery 🙂  Here are the details:

  • Sign up by sending me an email, a twitter message, a facebook message, or commenting on the blog.
  • Commit to a fitness routine.  This can be what you are already doing or something new.  It can range from running to fitness classes to going to the gym to workout videos.  If you need help picking a program, just ask!  When you sign up, tell me what your routine will be.
  • Commit to eating healthy.  This is NOT a diet!  Rather, I want us all to be more conscious of what we are eating.  Keep a food journal if you never have and it will be an eye opening experience.
  • Submit your starting weight.  This information will not be shared with anyone except me.  It will be used to calculate a percent weight loss at the end of the challenge.
  • Submit one goal you have for yourself for the challenge.  This could be anything you want it to be – Decrease your mile run time; Increase your running distance; Make it through an entire P90X plyo video without dying – anything you want it to be.

Now, the fun part: PRIZES!  Everyone who signs up will receive samples of my favorite meal replacement – Shakeology.  This is totally for you to use as you wish just as a way to kick start the challenge.  Then, at the end of the challenge, prizes will be awarded to the greatest weight loss percentage, the person who stuck closest to their fitness routine, and the person (people) who achieved his or her goal.

Throughout the challenge, I will be checking in with you all providing accountability and support as well as fitness and nutrition tips.  I also am working on a way for us to do virtual group workouts.  More info to come on that during the challenge.

Overall, this is just meant to be a fun thing that will encourage all of us as we seek to live healthier lives.  It’s not about being the skinniest or fastest or the one with the biggest muscles.  It’s about living life to the fullest.  I can’t wait to see what kind of fireworks we can set off together!!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 11:27 pm

    Routine: Running daily along with some additional workouts (weights, elliptical, 30 Day Shred)
    Eating: I’ll try.
    Weight: 180. At 5’11” this isn’t bad, but I’d love to be back at my college weight of 165.
    Goal: My usual run distance right now is a 5k. I’d really like to be able to increase my average daily runs to the length of a 10k. I also want to sign up for a 5k or 10k, but I’m no fool and will not sign up for one until after the summer heat has passed (I want success the first time!).

Leave a Reply

