Skip to content

Zumba Training!

June 5, 2011

This past Friday I drove up to the Bodyplex gym in Cumming, GA to attend a Zumba training.  I wasn’t really sure what to expect because I’ve never actually taken a Zumba class before.  I did the Zumba demo on our Xbox Kinnect but that’s it.  Some of the ladies in my Hip Hop Hustle class had a chance to try Zumba at work and loved it so they were asking if we could incorporate it into our church’s recreation schedule.  So, after checking and rechecking the Zumba website trying to find a training in GA that wasn’t sold out, I was finally able to get in.  The training started with a Master Class led by our trainer, Erick Santana.  (Side note – Erick was great!  Check him out here!)  Even though I didn’t know half the steps I still had a blast!  We were moving and shaking and having a big party for the whole hour.  It was non-stop movement and I loved it!  The rest of the day was spent breaking down the four basic styles: Salsa, Merengue, Cumbia, and Reggeaton.  After 9 hours of training and over 2700 calories burned (thank you bodybugg!) I am now a certified Zumba instructor!  Good thing I passed, too, since our first class is this Wednesday morning!  I have my work cut out for me memorizing new choreography but I’m loving every minute of it!  If you’re in the area, come join us!  Click here for more info on the classes!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 5, 2011 9:58 pm

    I wish I could come to your class! I really want to try Zumba. One of my neighbors does a class at the neighborhood gym, but there is a shady group of middle school aged boys who always go to watch (I can see them from the cardio room).

Leave a Reply

