Skip to content

Welcome 2012!

January 3, 2012

Hi, my name is Kristin, and I’m a bad blogger.  I have come to terms with that fact, and I trust you have as well – speaking to my 2 loyal readers (my husband and my sister, haha).  But, I’m going to try to be better.  Only time will tell.

For my first post in a long time, and the first post of 2012, I contemplated what the subject might be.  Of course, everyone seems to be posting about their resolutions for the new year.  I, however, never really make resolutions because, let’s face it, they seem to always fail.  I think this is because I make them because I feel pressure to and not because there is something I really want to change.  So instead, I thought I would post about what I am looking forward to in 2012 – things that I’m looking forward to and things that I hope to accomplish, not because it’s a new year but because they have been on my to do list for a while.

January – I’m excited to be the key note speaker at the children’s conference for the North Alabama Conference of the UMC.  It will be the first time I’ve ever done something like it, but I can’t wait!  I would appreciate your prayers as I prepare and present 🙂

February – The trip of a lifetime!  Chris and I will be traveling to Israel with the Bishop and other members of the North Georgia Conference.  I can only imagine how this experience will impact my life, and I am blessed to be able to experience it with my husband!

March – Vegas, baby!  I know, I know, we have been there twice already in the past 2 years, but sin city keeps calling us back, haha.  Since Chris’s grandparents weren’t able to make it on the last trip, we’re trying again.  Hopefully a trip to the Hoover Dam is in store this time around.

April – No big plans as of yet.  But, a month that begins with Holy Week and celebrating our Lord’s resurrection is good enough for me!

May – Let wedding season begin!  I already have two weddings on my calendar to officiate this month.  One of the many perks of my job.

June – Wedding season continues with my baby sister’s wedding!  Woo hoo!  It’s round 3 for the Scarboro girls as Lindsay and Todd get married.  And, to continue the tradition, they will be getting married at Athens First UMC where Chris and I were married, Meredith and Bryan were married, and my parents were married.  A special place indeed!

Well, that gets us through the first half of the year.  Along with these big items, I plan on really focusing on writing curriculum.  My good friends Audrey and Rachel and I plan to submit our VBS program for publication in February.  And, I’m about halfway through putting together the preschool chapel curriculum I have written to submit for publication.  If anyone has any publisher friends, let me know!  In the realm of fitness, I plan on getting certified in Turbo Kick, a kickboxing class.  Not sure I really want to teach it, but I know it will be a great challenge for my physically, which I need.  Lastly, I want to spend more time dedicated to reading.  I seem to go in waves, reading three books really quickly and then not reading for a few weeks (or months!).  I have tons of books on my shelves that I want to read, so I need to focus in and get it done.

There it is – my look forward to 2012.  I think it’s going to be a great year, filled with excitement, growth, learning, and, hopefully, transformation.  Grace and peace to you all in this new year!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meredith Elder permalink
    January 9, 2012 3:01 pm

    Welcome back! I can assure you that this loyal reader is quite excited for 2012 – the year of the blog.

  2. Lilith permalink
    January 9, 2012 8:25 pm

    That’s really cool about being a key note speaker! I know you’re super excited!!! When is that? I feel the same as you do about resolutions! I just can’t stick to it and then feel guilty when I don’t. It’s a vicious circle!

Leave a Reply

