Skip to content

Greeting Card Memories

March 4, 2013

Ever since we announced we were expecting, we have been showered with such amazing love and support.  Before she even arrived, Ruthie Jeanne was already loved more than we ever could have imagined.  I want Ruthie Jeanne to know this as she grows up, so I have kept all the cards and notes we have received throughout the pregnancy and since.  Up until this weekend, I had them all in a used gift bag sitting in the corner of her room.  I knew that I wanted to keep them a little better preserved, but I wasn’t sure how.

A few weeks ago, at Lindsay and Todd’s, I noticed she had all her Christmas cards on a metal ring in order to keep them together and well-organized.  What a great idea!  So, this weekend I finally got everything together to be able to do the same with all the cards we have received.

I got a box from Hobby Lobby to keep them in.  The metal rings are shower curtain rings from Walmart, and I got a fancy hole punch from Target that lets me punch through all kinds of paper without any trouble.

Card Setup

I separated the cards so that there are two rings with cards from church members and a ring with cards from the showers we had with our friends and our family.  I put the shower invitation on the top as a reminder of where the cards came from and the celebrations we had.

Shower cards

At our church shower, instead of a guestbook, the hostesses put out colorful cards for folks to write messages on.  I put all of them on a ring as well, so now I can thumb through them and read them easily.

Church guest book

Here is the finished product!  I also put some loose cards in the box, like the Valentine’s Day cards Ruthie Jeanne received.  When there are enough loose cards, I will put them on another ring with a tag to mark the year.

Final product

I’m really excited about this little project.  I think I may need to do the same with all our wedding cards.  They are currently sitting in gift bags in the closet, haha.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Robertine permalink
    March 4, 2013 8:09 pm

    Great idea!

Leave a Reply

